

Item No. 12

COUNCIL 21 MAY 2009

Agenda Status: Public

Directorate: Chief Executive

Report Title	Appointments to Committees

1. Summary

To seek approval to the detailed appointments to Committees for 2009/10

2. Recommendations

2.1 That the appointments to Committees set out in the report be accepted.

3. Report Background

Following on from the earlier report to this meeting on Proportionality (item 10), set out below are the proposed appointments to Committees made by the political groups.

Overview & Scrutiny Management Committee (6 members)

Councillor Simpson (Chair), Councillor J Conroy (Deputy Chair), Councillors I Choudary, Lane, Malpas and P M Varnsverry

Overview & Scrutiny Committee 1: Partnerships, Regeneration and Community Safety and Engagement (10 members)

Councillor Simpson (Chair), Councillor I Choudary (Deputy-Chair), Councillors Caswell, S Chaudhury, Clarke, Palethorpe, Perkins, Reeve, P D Varnsverry and Wilson

Overview & Scrutiny Committee 2: Housing and Environment (9 members)

Councillor Malpas (Chair), Councillor P M Varnsverry (Deputy-Chair), Councillors De Cruz, Garlick, Larratt, Meredith, Palethorpe, Scott and Yates

Overview & Scrutiny 3: Improvement, Performance & Finance (9 members)

Councillor Lane (Chair), Councillor J Conroy (Deputy-Chair), Councillors Collins, Davies, Golby, Hadland, Meredith, Taylor and Yates

Appointments and Appeals Committee (7 members)

Councillor Woods (Chair), Councillor Glynane (Deputy-Chair), Councillors Beardsworth, Davies, Hadland, Larratt and I Markham

Audit Committee (7 members)

Councillor Perkins (Chair), Councillor Yates (Deputy-Chair), Councillors De Cruz, Davies, Hawkins, J Lill and Palethorpe

General Purposes Committee (9 members)

Councillor Collins (Chair), Councillor Garlick (Deputy-Chair), Councillors S Chaudhury, Clarke Davies, Duncan, Edwards, Matthews and I Markham

Licensing Committee (11 members)

Councillor Taylor (Chair), Councillor Wilson (Deputy-Chair), Caswell, I Choudary, R Conroy, Duncan, C Lill, I Markham, Matthews, Reeve and P M Varnsverry

Planning Committee (11 members)

Councillor Hollis (Chair), Councillor P D Varnsverry (Deputy-Chair), Councillors Church, Collins, J Conroy, Golby, M Hoare, Lane, Malpas, Mason and Meredith

Standards Committee (9 members)

Mr Ian Harley (Independent Chair), D Hughes, M Edwards (Parish Council representatives), Mr T Morris, Mrs G Moss (Independent), Councillors Capstick, Flavell, Hawkins and Matthews,

Tree Panel (5 members)

Councillor Matthews (Chair), Councillors De Cruz, Davies, Hadland and Larratt

4. Implications (including financial implications)

4.1 Resources and Risk

None specifically.

4.2 Legal

The Council has a legal requirement to formally appoint members to Committees to enable it to operate lawfully.

4.3 Other Implications

None

5. Background Papers

Members Services - Departmental file

Report Author and Title:	Frazer McGown – Democratic Services Manager
Telephone and Email:	837101 – fmcgown@northampton.gov.uk